RSS

A Pox on You!

21 Nov

IMG_3614 - Copy“‘Tis healthy to be sick sometimes.”
–Henry David Thoreau 

Chicken Pox!  What used to be a childhood rite of passage is becoming less common to see.  That’s why I was surprised when 12-year-old Molly sat down at the kitchen table with a face covered in red spots.

She had been sick a few days before, so it all made sense.   But where did she catch it?  We told her it was from hugging the chickens too much, but she didn’t believe us.  Counting back a few weeks, we realized it was around the time we attended a home schooling conference. What more likely place to catch it than with hundreds of others who often have alternative ideas about education and health?

Molly's response when Daddy wanted to play "Connect the Dots" on her face.

Molly’s response when Daddy wanted to play “Connect the Dots” on her face.

Was I upset? Nope!  I was actually excited. Getting the chicken pox is the only way to gain true immunity. In most cases, chicken pox is not a dangerous disease.  I think the vaccine was created for convenience rather than necessity. The vaccine holds the sickness inside the body, but having the chicken pox allows the body to push it out for good.

In addition, it was good for the rest of us in the family who already had chicken pox, as being around someone recovering gave our immune systems a natural “booster” for the virus. This explains why the decrease in chicken pox outbreaks brings an increase in shingles.  People no longer have the periodic exposure to the pox as they once did.

Well, Molly certainly had a full-blown case.  But I had my homeopathic remedies to help this time. There are several remedies that can be used for chicken pox, but the most commonly used is Rhus-Tox.  I started her on it right away, and even though she was covered with spots from head to toe, her itching was fairly light and tolerable.  She was tired and not up to doing much, but that was the worst of it.

Friends who learned of Molly’s outbreak asked to bring their kids over to be exposed.  As a result, one mom was thrilled that at last all of her kids had conquered the virus.

Josh and Katie also came down with a mild case of chicken pox, even though they had the vaccine (before my understanding on this changed). I was glad they got it, too. Katie found that Calendula cream was a great help in relieving any itchy spots.

So if anyone in your family finds themselves spotty from hugging chickens, grab the Rhus-Tox and Calendula cream and you’ll be happy with the results.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2013 in Homeopathy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “A Pox on You!

  1. Beth

    November 22, 2013 at 11:22 AM

    What do I do with a grown daughter (20) that never got the pox when she was little. We opted out of the vaccine and her older siblings had the pox before she was born. My only concern is if she were to get the pox while being pregnant.

     
    • amysanta

      November 22, 2013 at 3:05 PM

      Hmmm…this is one of the problems that results from the vaccine–people don’t always catch it when they are young, when it is the safest to contract. My oldest son, 19, got it after Molly did. Is your daughter married with the possibility of pregnancy now? If not, I would keep my ears open for a way to catch chicken pox and be done with it. Sometimes there are Yahoo or Google groups on that topic. Or ask teacher friends or friends with school-age children to let you know if they hear of a case. Wish I had an easier answer for you.

       
  2. Tiff

    November 25, 2013 at 7:50 AM

    I’m glad Molly shared with us! 🙂 I did get a very mild case of shingles which still persists, but other than the appearance of the small rash on the side of my neck, it doesn’t bother me at all. Now that I have some more time to focus on myself, I’ll probably do a liver/gall bladder cleanse and see if that helps. Loving your posts! 🙂

     
    • amysanta

      November 25, 2013 at 3:23 PM

      I have heard that acupuncture works great for shingles. Several people have said that. I have never been to one before, but I’m keeping that in mind, in case I need it.

       
  3. Christine

    February 2, 2014 at 6:11 PM

    So bummed we missed out on this! Would love to know if you come across someone with it in the future! We were exposed last summer but didn’t get it 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
