RSS

Goodbye, Wisdom Teeth! Hello, Homeopathy!

11 Mar
Goodbye, Wisdom Teeth! Hello, Homeopathy!

Adam and Eve had many advantages, but the principle one was that they escaped teething. ~Mark Twain–

When my 18-year-old daughter, Katie, climbed next to me into the car to get her 4 wisdom teeth pulled, she was understandably nervous. Remembering the removal of my own wisdom teeth years ago, I wanted her experience to be even better, so I came armed with homeopathic remedies, excited to see them work their magic.  

I carefully chose Arnica for swelling and bruising, and Hypericum for healing to nerve-rich areas. From the cell salts, I also added Mag-Phos 6x for an analgesic, and Kali-Mur 6x to help detox the anesthesia. I put all of these together in a bottle of water and gave her a dose before surgery. Normally I do not give the remedies all together, but I didn’t want to bother with individual dosing in the doctor’s office.

Katie, immediately after surgery.  Isn't she nice to let me use this photo?!

Katie, immediately after surgery. Isn’t she nice to let me use this photo?!

Katie’s procedure only took about a half hour, and soon I was called into the little recovery room. Her face was swollen and wrapped in an ice pack-headband of sorts around her chin and up over the top ofher head. The kind nurse gave us recovery directions, including instructions to go pick up the pain medicine and begin taking it immediately to keep ahead of the pain.

Planning to use the remedies to help Katie’s pain and recovery, I asked the nurse if ibuprofen would be enough instead. “Oh, no!” she replied. “Maybe after a few days, but she’ll need the drugs for sure. If you do want to try ibuprofen at some point, be sure to take 800 mg, as that is prescription strength.”  But she didn’t know about homeopathy.

I didn’t want to give Katie drugs if I didn’t have to, but I also didn’t want her to be miserable. So I went to the pharmacy and fulfilled the prescription. However, I did not fulfill the antibiotic prescription, though we were told to have her take it as a preventative. We have worked hard to get Katie’s gut healthy, and did not want her gut bacteria wiped out with an antibiotic when she did not have an infection. We planned to feed her well and keep her immune system healthy and only take the antibiotic if she did actually get an infection.

When we got home, I looked at the ingredients in the pain medication and besides the drug Hydrocodone, I saw it contained acetaminophen (Tylenol). Acetaminophin blocks glutathione production in your body. Glutathione is a powerful antioxidant with many important functions, one of which is detoxification. Dr. Mark Hyman calls it the “mother of all antioxidants.”  With anesthesia and other contaminants running through her body, I didn’t want to hamper her detox. So we decided to just try ibuprofen. She took a big dose in the afternoon and we continued with the remedies and ice packs.

Evening of the surgery

Evening of the surgery

The next day we mostly concentrated on remedies, resting, and nourishing soft foods like kefir, kombucha, and broth-based soups. She only took one dose of ibuprofen (400mg) in the afternoon. The 3rd day: the same. The 4th day: no pain killer.

On the the 5th day, Katie said one of her teeth (or lack of them) was starting to ache and feel rotten. We wondered if it was getting infected. She flushed the site out with salt water, I gave her some ibuprofen, and I researched some remedies and her gave several doses that night. The next morning, Katie appeared with a smile on her face. “The pain is gone! It feels normal again!”

So after getting 4 wisdom teeth removed, she only took 4 doses of ibuprofen….and homeopathic remedies. Pretty good, I’d say! Yay for homeopathy—we sailed through wisdom teeth removal with minimum pain relief and no antibiotics. I am so glad I have this amazing healing tool on hand to help my family.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2015 in Health, Homeopathy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Goodbye, Wisdom Teeth! Hello, Homeopathy!

  1. debbie0413

    March 11, 2015 at 4:26 PM

    So glad Katie got though the ordeal with minimal discomfort & you were able to get a slam dunk for homeopathy! I wonder if her achy “rotten” feeling on day 4 was “dry something” (can’t remember the term). Wish Celessa’s experience had gone better since the anasthesia or pain killers made her sick and in worse pain, so she only used ibruprofin anyway. When wisdom teeth are compacted/fused into the bone (as 3 of mine and 1 or 2 of Kalina’s were), more anti-inflammatory & pain meds may be required. Celina won big-her wisdom teeth never did come in (just like with her dad)!

     
  2. Lora

    March 12, 2015 at 2:15 AM

    I love it!

     
  3. Linda

    March 12, 2015 at 3:33 AM

    Hi Amy its Linda Bronenkamp (I met you at Dr. Rehme’s office)…so glad Katie is doing well…love your posts…and love homeopathic remedies…..thanks for sharing them.

     
  4. Mary Conley

    March 19, 2015 at 10:52 AM

    Love the photos of you Katie, and yes, you are a good sport! Nice blog, Amy!

     
  5. Andrew Howard

    April 13, 2015 at 8:54 AM

    Wow, wish I would have know about this few years ago when mine–all four plus the hunting for a potential fifth–were extracted! I was out the better part of a week and had trouble here and there for few weeks following the surgery.

    It is amazing how much healing properties God has built into plants and other living organisms for our benefit.

     

Leave a Reply

 
