RSS

Refreshing Cucumber Mint Smoothie

11 Aug
Refreshing Cucumber Mint Smoothie

So what do you do when you have an abundance of cucumbers in your garden, all coming ripe at the same time?  Make smoothies! I am a little pleased with myself, because I actually made this one up, and it was a bigger hit with the family than most of my other green smoothies. It has a light, refreshing taste, and a pretty color, too.

 

Into the blender (I have a Vita Mix), add the following:

  • Milk (I use raw milk or a can of coconut milk)
  • 1 cucumber
  • large handful or two of greens–whatever is growing in your garden, such as kale, spinach, or lettuce  (Or, a handful of frozen kale that you stored away when you had so much kale you didn’t know what to do with it.)
  • squirt of honey and a shake of Stevia
  • dash of salt
  • mint leaves, to taste
  • iceZB9C0142

Blend till smooth and taste–you can add more of any of the above ingredients as needed.  This smoothie tends to separate quickly, but a quick stir with a spoon makes it right again.

*A note about mint*  I get my mint off the back deck, from a pretty, wooden herb box that my hubby made.  Of course, we found out the hard way that mint must be contained, or it spreads.  When a relative gave us some starter plants, we  naively gave it a home in our large garden plot.  The next spring, we roto-tilled the soil, unknowingly spreading the roots all around.  Mint was coming up everywhere and I was pulling it for the next few seasons. Now it is safely imprisoned in the herb box within a few steps of the back door for quick picking.

My son was out working in the heat just now, and I brought him a tall, cool glass filled with this yummy drink.  He guzzled it down with glee.  I walked away feeling happy that instead of a soda, he got a drink that not only refreshed, but also revitalized with lots of great nutrition.

Enjoy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 11, 2016 in Nutrition

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Refreshing Cucumber Mint Smoothie

  1. Mom

    August 12, 2016 at 8:05 AM

    Nice post! Can’t wait to try this smoothly with my extra cakes!

     

Leave a Reply

 
