RSS

My Deep Cleaning Challenge

27 Sep
My Deep Cleaning Challenge

“Life is a cinch by the inch, but hard by the yard.”

I looked around my house and could find hardly a spot that didn’t need work.  I had been going easy on myself concerning cleaning due to some health issues, but after so long, something needed to be done.  

Being overwhelmed and doing nothing somehow doesn’t get the house cleaned.  And I certainly didn’t have enough time or energy to hit the whole house at once, so I decided to just attack one room at a time, and to allow one week for each room.  That seemed very doable. It will probably be a many months before I’m done, but slow and steady wins the race, right?  Plus, it made me think of this story:

      A sixty-year-old man decided he wanted to learn how to play the trombone, so he went to the band leader in his small town and asked if he would be willing to teach him at his age.

     “Sure, I’d be happy to teach you,” answered the instructor.

     “But how long do you think it will take before I am good enough to play in the town band?” asked the man.

     The musician thought for a while. “I could bring you to that level in 5 years.”

     “Five years! But I would be 65!”

     “Well,” replied the band leader, “how old would you be in five years if you didn’t learn to play the trombone?”

I love that story!  So though this project will take me months to finish, how clean would my house be in several months if I didn’t start now, right?!

I decided to begin with the dining room because it’s in the middle of everything, but has no closets to attack.  But even for just the dining room I have found all these things to work on:

  •        cleaning windows and sills, including vacuuming the screens
  •        vacuuming window treatments
  •        vacuuming the cobwebs in the high ceilings with a ladder
  •        cleaning the dog kennel
  •        touch-up painting the walls
  •        scrubbing the tile floors
  •        cleaning the track of the sliding door
  •        wiping the dusty leaves of the big plant in the corner
  •        dusting the chandelier and replacing burnt out bulbs
  •        wiping down the legs and supports of our big dining table
  •        scrubbing the grime on the backs of the 10 chairs
  •        wiping down the base boards/trim
  •        rubbing Old English onto the trim
  •        cleaning the hutch, including pulling it out and wiping under and behind it
  •        going through the drawers of the hutch

Whew! That’s quite a list, and only for one room!  I think some rooms might take more than a week, but that’s okay.  I’m excited already at the progress I’ve made. Maybe those of you who are great cleaners think this is silly, but anyone else out there want to join me in my deep cleaning challenge?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “My Deep Cleaning Challenge

  1. The Bride of Chad :)

    September 28, 2016 at 3:38 AM

    So this is exactly how I do it! I create a list for each room and every weekend (because the weekdays are not feasible) I tackle a little bit of something until I finish that room and then move on. GREAT story by the way, so relevant to so many things!!!

     
    • amysanta

      September 28, 2016 at 4:54 AM

      So do you have a list for regular cleaning and for deep cleaning? For regular cleaning, I would just be vacuumming and dusting.

       
  2. Tiff

    September 28, 2016 at 4:43 AM

    You go, girl! I will join you after the wedding. When Bekah is back home. And she can do it. Lol. Seriously, it is very satisfying to complete such a big project. I’m happy for you. 🙂

     
    • amysanta

      September 28, 2016 at 4:55 AM

      Thanks, Tiffaroo!

       
  3. Mom

    September 28, 2016 at 7:37 AM

    Cool story! You go girl!

     
    • amysanta

      September 28, 2016 at 7:49 AM

      And did you notice the quote? I got that from you!

       
  4. Mom

    September 28, 2016 at 7:43 AM

    Great story! I’ll need to apply that to this chapter in my life, I’m sure! You go girl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
